Senatorial candidates: Akpabio and Lawan have been added to the APC’s list of candidates



Senator Godswill Akpabio, former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, and Senate President Ahmad Lawan are reportedly on the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) senatorial ticket for the 2023 general election.

Senators’ involvement in the senatorial election in 2023 has been marred by controversy, following their loss in the ruling party’s presidential election.

While the party’s senatorial candidate from Lawan’s zone (Yobe North), Bashir Sheriff Machina, has refused to step down for him, claiming that he purchased the party’s expression of interest and nomination forms and was duly elected at the party’s primary that was monitored by INEC, it was reported that Akpabio lost his Akwa Ibom North-west senatorial bid on the grounds that the senatorial primary that produced him was not monitored by INEC.

However, papers discovered by the Daily Trust revealed that in 2023, they will be competing against candidates from other political parties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *